Best Selling Author

Ilsa Evans

Ilsa Evans is the author of sixteen books across several genres, including the bestselling Broken and also the Nell Forrest Murder Mysteries.

For news about upcoming events etc, please follow me on facebook or instagram. But while you’re here, feel free to browse the website, check out the books, send an email, sign-up for the (not terribly regular) newsletter, follow the purchasing links – the list is endless!


family baggage

Things you might be surprised to find when cleaning out your deceased mother’s house:

     a secret diary
     a family mystery
     a new lease on life.

Grief-stricken middle-aged sisters George, Kat and Annie give themselves a week to pack up their childhood home and divide their mother’s belongings. Beloved items are contested: an Eames chair, a collection of war medals, a learn-to-read book. The sisters – bossy Kat, mediator George and petulant Annie – are hampered by sibling rivalry, the prickly demands of their own offspring, the needs of their disabled younger brother and, in George’s case, the after-effects of a spot of adultery.

The discovery of a decades’ old diary divides the women further: not only do they learn what their mother really thought of them, they learn that she had a life entirely of her own. They are not the family they thought they were – and their mother was so much more than she seemed. This revelation might be the key to George’s freedom …

Other Books

The Unusual Abduction of Avery Conifer

Two grandmothers, a great-grandmother, a mini-schnauzer, and a four-year old girl – on the run across country Victoria. An unusual abduction indeed. So how far would you go the protect a child?

Dastardly Deeds

It was supposed to be the holiday of a lifetime …
When Nell Forrest’s life hits a speed bump (which is most definitely not a midlife crisis) a cruise around the Mediterranean seems like just the ticket. Unfortunately, that’s an idea shared by her mother, her ex-husband, his new partner, and a police detective with whom Nell has a stormy history.

Forbidden Fruit

Planting a tree in the backyard doesn’t usually unearth the remains of a former resident. But now amateur sleuth Nell Forrest has the police on her doorstep, a television crew next door, and once again she’s in the middle of a murder investigation.

Ill-Gotten Gains

The country town of Majic is about to celebrate a milestone. It’s been 150 years since the founding father, Petar Majic, rode into the bush after a liquid lunch, vowing to build a house at whatever spot he reached by sunset. 



The Unusual Abduction of Avery Conifer is a heartfelt and thought-provoking read, which will appeal to lovers of family dramas while also providing some laughs along the way

– Weekend Australian


A heartfelt and very witty novel that explores in an entertaining, and occasionally amusing way, some very real and poignant issues in today’s society. Recommended.

– Canberra Weekly


A compelling read that is hard to pin down to one genre, as it is entertaining whilst touching on serious themes … It’s great to see older female protagonists absolutely lead this novel and shake it up

– Better Reading

Contact Ilsa

Follow me on social media